97 Squadron, fire by night, History, World War 2

Thank you’s and acknowledgements for information

Sorry I haven’t updated for a while but I have been doing a lot of reading from several sources in my hunt for information on Tom Leak.

First I would like to thank Jennie Gray who’s webpage http://raf-pathfinders.com led me to her book Fire By Night: The Dramatic Story of One Pathfinder Crew and Black Thursday, 16 December 1943 Paperback – 19 May 2011 (available on amazon as well as kindle) and the 97 Squadron (Straights Settlements) web pages ( more below). The information she had on her webpage allowed me to look for both Tom and his pilot Charles Owen. I thank Jennie for the insights and would like to acknowledge in advance the help her research and book have given me and I will be referencing her materials when used.

Secondly I would like to thank Kevin Bending and Gail Savage-Smith for their help and allowing me to join as an associate member the 97 Squadron (Straights Settlements) it is an honour. I have used their webpage http://www.97squadronassociation.co.uk and transcripts of the squadron operations books to map out Tom’s missions and career. As well as the great history of 96 Squadron by Kevin, Achieve Your Aim: The History of No. 97 (Straits Settlements) Squadron – A WW2 Pathfinder Squadron Paperback – 1 May

Finally I am doing this for my friend Nigel Scott who’s Uncle Tom was, and he loaned me a video of Tom talking of his war time experiences I hope to review it further as the quick glance I gave it answered a few questions but left more! I cannot thank him enough for allowing me to share in the knowledge of his uncle and all who he fly with.

As today is Remembrance Sunday I would like to finish with.

their name liveth for evermore

Standard

Leave a Reply

